Our Institutional Members
Learn more about our visions and strategy for the upcoming years.
To the Englisch version of the Sendai Framework for Disaster Reduction

DKKV Promotional Award

Young professionals in the field of disaster risk management are particularly important to DKKV and its members. For this reason, the "DKKV Promotional Award" is being announced annually since 2018. The prize is awarded for final theses that are related to the topics of national/international disaster prevention and rehabilitation, civil protection, adaptation to climate change or the integration of disaster prevention and adaptation to climate change. In addition, best practice examples that deal with current research results with future perspectives can be submitted. Applicants for the DKKV Promotional Award are expected to have graduated in an accredited degree programme.

The winners of this year's DKKV Promotional Award have been announced! We congratulate

Michael Skala - "Entwicklung einer Aktivierenden Befragung im sozialraumorientierten Bevölkerungsschutz Ein Beitrag der Sozialen Arbeit zur Aktivierung einer Selbstschutz- und Selbsthilfekompetenz bei Bürger*Innen für eine stärkere gesellschaftliche Resilienz gegenüber Notlagen und Schadensereignissen", first place in the category Bachelor


Katharina Seeger - "Geomorphological and sedimentary impacts of exceptional precipitation events on a dry valley in the Andean Precordillera (Tarapacá region, N Chile)", first place in the category Master!

In addition to the prize money, the two winners will receive a free two-year DKKV membership as young professionals. The date and format of the award ceremony will be announced shortly.

Missed your chance? Feel free to apply next year! We will communicate the opening of the application period in due time on our website as well as via our Twitter account.

following places:

bachelor theses

2nd place ​- Amelie Schwärzel: Öffentlich-Private Partnerschaften im Krisenkontext aus Firmenperspektive - Eine empirische Untersuchung.​

3rd place ​- Stefan Mönnich: How can the international community and the affected government support humanitarian action in areas of limited statehood – on the example of Yemens health sector.​

master sheses

2nd place​ - Barbara Steinbrunner: Ansatz einer risikobasierten Betrachtungsweise in der Raumplanung.​

3rd place ​- Haniel Girón de León: RE-THINKING EARLY WARNING SYSTEMS TO VOLCANIC HAZARDS: A case study from Fuego volcano, Guatemala.​


  • May 17th, 2021: application deadline
  • approximately end of June 2021: end of pre-evaluation on the basis of the summaries
  • appr. August 2021: end of evaluation of the theses and nomination of the winners

The winners are expected to be announced in September 2021 on the DKKV website and on Twitter. The award ceremony will be hosted and planned with regard to the current situation.


Further Information

The submitted thesis must not be older than two years (24 months) at the time the application period closes (17.05.2021). Here, the submission date of your work is important, which therefore may not be before 18.05.2019.

Furthermore, only theses that have already been submitted and finally evaluated by your reviewer will be accepted. Please also note that it is not permitted to reapply with a thesis that has already been submitted in previous years. Of course, you can apply more than once, as long as it is not the same thesis.

Evaluation of the work

After the application deadline, all application documents are first checked for completeness. The submitted abstracts are used for the pre-selection of the papers. The best of them will be shortlisted by the jury, which will then jointly evaluate the corresponding final papers.

The jury members of the DKKV Promotional Award are:

  • Alexander Rudloff (Vorstand DKKV/GFZ)
  • Prof. Dr. Lothar Schrott (Universität Bonn)
  • Prof. Dr. Wiltrud Terlau (Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg, IZNE)
  • Dipl.-Ing. Sylvia Wallasch (Regierung von Schwaben/KaVoMa)
  • Martin Zeidler (Vorstand DKKV/THW)